Fighting Evil With Good

I am on vacation, recently graduated with my MFA and enjoying a road trip across America with my wife and three dogs, and as such, I do not want to think about the evils going on in the world . . .  and in my country. Later, I will listen, I’ll allow myself catch on the news. All this I have told my wife. But here I am, finding a few minutes of quietness and unable to shake the conviction that I must say something about the Charlottesville events. The easy thing to do would be to keep quiet. Those who know me, know where I stand (or I would like to think they do), but in several ways I have been reminded that to keep quiet is equally wrong and implicitly makes me just as guilty. So allow, if you will, to share my thoughts on what has happened.

We live in a fallen world, a world full of evil in desperate need of redemption. And scripture tells us that evil will increase until the Lord comes to redeem the world and establish his kingdom. Only then will it end. Nevertheless, it is the duty of everyone, but especially followers of Christ, to stand up for what is right and to fight evil. And racism is evil.

In the Old Testament, God judged the nation of Israel for being passive about the atrocities happening around them. In fact, they were judged harsher because of it. As a disciple (an apprentice, if you will) of Christ, I cannot keep quiet when sin runs rampant around me.

The question now becomes, “What do I do, then?” And the answer is simple: denounce what is evil and wrong. The best way to do this is with my life. Anyone who identifies themselves with Christ must live as he did: loving people and teaching them his truths. And if you still don’t get it, then consider the words the Lord gave the prophet Micah for Israel: “He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?” (Micah 6:8, ESV).

About this entry