Some Sunday Afternoon Thoughts

[tweetmeme]

Many of us (my self included at times) travel through life on a path we know not where it leads. Our minds tell our feet to walk and so we walk (or run, stroll,  sprint, what have you). There are often times side trails along the way. Sometimes we take them; sometimes we do not. Some of these trails dead end and force us to turn around and go back to where were. Others eventually loop back or connect to the road we were on. And them some turn into a whole new trail that leads us in an entirely different direction in which we never return to the one we are on.

I feel as though I am wandering aimlessly on a path. I do not know where I am going or where the path leads. Along the way I pause and sit and rest, thinking (or trying to think) about my life. There seems to be no direction except to go forward. I do not know what my life is about.

And then I read Jeremiah 29:11-13Jeremiah 29:11-13:

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD,
plans for welfare [or peace] and not for evil,
to give you a future and a hope.

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me,
and I will hear you.

You will seek me and find me,
when you seek me with all your heart.'” (ESV; emphasis mine)

I may not know where my life is headed, or where I am going. But I do not need to know specifics, though I would not mind knowing them. All the matters is that God has a plan for my life–to give me peace, not evil; to give me a future and a hope. And I do have a future and a hope; and it is an eternal one.

About this entry