Waiting for the LORD

[tweetmeme]

“Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD will renew their strength…” (Isaiah 40:30-31a; ESV)

How long does one have to wait? How does one wait? What does it mean anyway? And why is it so hard to do?

In the midst of a crazy, hectic week where even sleep seems a luxury I can barely afford, I find myself struggling with the concept, of waiting. I struggle to understand it, to make it my own. I know for a fact  it is something I need to do, yet I feel I am unable to do it. Of course, it is easy enough to say I am waiting for God, but while I am “waiting,” I busy myself with many other tasks, other responsibilities.

But is that really waiting? In a certain way I suppose it is; actively waiting I could call it. And I am sure in certain situations, and done in the right manner, it is biblical. Obviously God does not want us to sit around on our butts and do nothing… or does he?

I am reminded of the story in Luke where Martha busily tries to get a meal ready and clean the house for her company, while Mary sits at Jesus’ feet… doing nothing. And Mary was commended for doing what was better (Lk 10:38-42).

Now of course, as Ecclesiastes points out, there is a time for everything: a time to work and a time to do nothing. To often, however, I do not spend enough time doing “nothing” for God. I do not spend enough time in silence—not reading, not praying, not sleeping…

Just sitting, listening, and waiting. Waiting for that still, small voice of God whispering, “Stephen.”

I do not give God enough of my time.

About this entry