I’m a November Addict

[tweetmeme]

I have an addiction.

There. I said it.

And the time has now come for me to indulge once again in my addiction. Against, perhaps my better judgment because of so many other responsibilities and projects going on in my life, I will be participating in the 2010 NaNoWriMo contest. This will be my third time in four years. I was unable to participate last year… and I felt the withdrawals.

A couple things then, about this coming month and my blog. I make no promises, but I will try to post somewhat regularly. Second, I might even post excerpts of the novel for you to enjoy or not enjoy. (Or you can check out my NaNoWriMo page here.)

Okay, so a little about the story. I have been spending the last couple months planning it and outlining it. My goal this year, as was my goal two years ago, is not only to reach the 50k word mark, but to actually FINISH the novel. (However, this next month is shaping up to be the busiest month of the year, not including this contest. So, I am not fully expecting to reach the 50k mark.) This story is a sort of adventure/literary fiction about one man, the hero, who finds himself stranded in the middle of nowhere with no money as he tries to find a way to get home. In the course of his journey, he discovers meaning and purpose in his life.

What I’m trying this time, which I have not done before, is outlining the novel based on the three act screenplay story structure according to John Truby (“The Anatomy of Story”), Blake Snyder (“Save The Cat”), Robert McKee (“Story”), and Syd Field (“Screenplay”).

So with that, I wish you all a happy November. And for those of you who are writers, happy writing.

About this entry