Alaska Bound… with Purpose

[tweetmeme]

I am equally excited and nervous. In five days I’ll be on a plane moving back to Fairbanks… with no money and no job. What on earth am I thinking? I was looking through an old journal I started just after I graduated from UAF. I realized as I was reading through the beginning of it, that it was 5 years ago today that I officially began my move out of Alaska. I have often wondered if I would ever move back; now I have the opportunity. However, I never imagined it would be under these circumstances.

As I continue thinking about my move and getting my stuff ready, a part of me is a little scared. What I’m doing does not make sense, does it? I will have a house sitting job and a car to borrow for a couple months, so maybe I’m not completely insane. When I moved to Montana (from Alaska) I a little more money (but not much) and a car. That was it. I had no job, no place to live, and really no idea where I would stop on my “one way” road trip. I may have been a little naive back then, but God provided in some big ways. So why would he not do the same for me now?

In fact, he’s already provided for me on this move. In addition to the house sitting and vehicle, my plane ticket was free (thank you frequent flyer miles).

A few months ago I realized I had a choice about this move: I could either move to Fairbanks, or I could move to Fairbanks with intentionality. In the last several weeks, I’ve been wondering if that intentionality is simply the intention to see God work in my life. Yet, this choice goes beyond just my move to Alaska, and even beyond my own life.

I heard or read somewhere once that it is not what you do in life that matters but how you live your life that is important. Or something like that. I could be way off though. In any case, what I am saying is that we all have a choice in life. We can choose to just live our lives, or we can choose to live our lives with intentionality.

So my question to you is this: Are just living your life? Or are you living it with purpose, with intentionality? And if not, what will you do to live your life with intentionality?

About this entry