Life Is Short

[tweetmeme]

I wrote this post in November of 2007. I had it posted on another blog I no longer use. For whatever reason I decided today to post it here. That is all.

“O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am!” –Psalm 39:4

When I read the news on the internet it came as a bit of a shock. I don’t know if it was because it happened so suddenly and unexpected or if it was because the day before I killed off one my characters in a novel I am writing (and it really felt good, too) or because I am only 27. I think it was perhaps a little of both, plus some other things only my subconscious is aware of. But what this unfortunate news did do was cause me to pause for a moment and reflect on the brevity of life.

Joe Kennedy had the future before him. At 28 years of age, he had played in the Major Leagues for seven years. He just bought his first house and he and his wife had a one year old son. Joe had been visiting his in-laws for Thanksgiving. But on Thursday night, he got up from bed to get something and collapsed. At the hospital he was pronounced dead.

One of the first things that popped into my head when I read about that was Psalm 139:16b: “In your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” Nothing happens in this world, and in our life, that is not directed or controlled in someway by God. He makes paths for the waters in the sea, He sets the moon and the stars in the heavens, He places rulers on thrones and removes them from power, He gives breath to all life, and He takes it away. He does as He pleases (Romans 9). And in his infinite wisdom, he does not tell us when our life on this earth is finished.

I have only one shot at life here on this planet, one shot at a life that is but a vapor. And the question then becomes, how will I live that life? For me it’s easy, though I all too often forget: “For me to live is Christ…”(Philippians 1:21).

About this entry