Traveling the Road of Life

[tweetmeme]

“You must be careful each time you step out of your door, because your front walk is really a road, and the road leads ever onward. If you aren’t careful, you’re apt to find yourself… well… simply swept away, a stranger in a strange land with no clue as to how you got there” (Stephen King, Langoliers; paraphrase from J.R.R. Tolkien, Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring).

Those words seem to becoming a major theme for my life.

Just after I began my move to Florida for my internship with Campus Crusade for Christ, I remember thinking on all that had happened and how I ended up where I was. Both nervously scared and very excited at the same time, I could not get that quote out of my head. However, I thought this adventure where I found myself “in a strange land with no clue as to how [I] got there,” was a unique, once in a lifetime experience.

That all changed this last Easter weekend.

Moving north to the Bay Area from Pasadena, the clutch in my truck went out at the top of the Grapevine. Now I am finding myself on the edge of a granite cliff. Below me is a deep, clear pool. It is probably only 10 or 15 feet down but from where I stand is appears much further. I find myself on this rock cliff with one question running through my mind: am I going to jump? I don’t seem to have the option anymore of testing the water with my feet, letting my body grow acclimated to the temperature—easing myself into the pool. This time it is all or nothing.

Following someone or something is risky business; in fact, simply leaving your house each day can be risky. Who, besides God, knows what the day will bring? The perspective you have on life makes a huge difference in how you live your life and on the attitude you carry throughout it.

Do you see your life as a mystery? As an adventure? Or do you see it as something less exciting, as something ordinary?

There are a lot of questions I have about my life right now; and I long for even a glimpse of my future. Yet my life, my future, remains a mystery. It is in that mystery, however, that I find adventure. I do not know where the road I am on will lead, but I trust the One who is leading me.

“‘Take up thy cross  and follow me,’ I heard my Master say;
‘I gave My life to ransom thee, surrender your all today.’

He drew me closer to His side, I sought His will to know,
And in that will I now abide, wherever He leads I’ll go

It may be thro’ the shadows dim, or o’er the stormy sea,
I take the cross and follow Him, wherever He leadeth me.

My heart, my life, my all I bring to Christ who loves me so;
He is my Master, Lord, and King, wherever He leads I’ll go.

Wherever He leads I’ll go,
Wherever He leads I’ll go,
I’ll follow my Christ who loves me so,
Wherever He leads I’ll go.”
—B. B. McKinney

About this entry