Why I Write

[tweetmeme]

This last Saturday, as I sat on the steps out back drinking coffee and soaking up the morning sunshine, I thought about why I am writing a novel. Since Jr. High or High School, I don’t remember exactly when, it has been a dream of mine to write a book and have it published. For the most part, I have always enjoyed my English classes, except diagramming—I hate diagramming, and have done well in them. My senior year of High School I took a writing class.  One of my favorite classes, I had a blast. But my dream of getting a novel published always stayed that, a dream.

When I graduated and went to college, I studied Wildlife Biology. In the summer of ’03, while working in the Alaskan bush doing duck surveys, I had a conversation with God that changed the direction my life was heading. As I stood among tall tussocks near the edge of Big Minto Lake, and looking at the hills on the other side, I expressed, for perhaps the first time in my life, my fears about writing, the inadequacies I felt, and how I did not think I was or ever could be a good enough writer to get a book published. What God impressed upon me was very clear, and since then, he continually reminds me of it. If he wants me to get a book published, he will make it happen. I don’t have to worry about it. My job is just to write, nothing more.

I decided then, that after I graduated, I would move to Kenai, get a job and write in my free time until I could make enough money to write full time. That did not exactly happen, but I did, however, change my major to English (mostly because I wanted to graduate and English seemed the easiest and quickest way to make that happen).

It’s now been seven years since the day in the Minto Flats, five years since I graduated college (undergrad), and I have yet to finish writing my first novel. As I thought about this though, I asked myself why I write. When I boil it down to the bare essence, doing away with the surface reasons and general motivations, there a two reasons, which are somewhat interconnected. I write because God wants me to write and I write because I enjoy writing; I love writing. Crafting a story and writing it is not easy most times, but it’s fun. When I write, I feel God’s joy inside me, I feel him smiling upon me. But in the end, when all’s said and done, I write for one simple reason: because I love God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength.

—–

Is there a dream in your life you are either pursuing or not pursuing? What is the real reason, the single, number one motivation why you are pursuing it or want to pursue it?

About this entry