Beginning Again

[tweetmeme]

Do you ever look back on your life and wonder if you missed any good opportunities? Do you ever wonder if those opportunities are still available? What do you do?

A little over a year ago, as I was following God, I found myself in a unique position. I was given the rare gift of time—time to pursue one of my life’s dreams, to write a novel.

There come moments in our lives where we as asked, sometime forced, to stop and wait. It is good in those moments to take some time and reflect on your life—to remember all the good things God’s done for you, the times you stumbled and fell and the reasons why, and the missed opportunities. This is healthy. It is from the past that we learn to live better.

There was a girl I liked once, but because I lacked courage, I never asked her out. Is it too late, I wonder? Is that opportunity lost forever? It can be easy, to get caught up on the past like this. If you’re not careful, these thoughts can distract you from where you are heading, they can cause you to miss out on other opportunities. You can’t be so focused on what’s behind you that you miss what’s in front.

If, like me, you’ve missed out on a great opportunity in the past, don’t worry. God’s grace allows us to make mistakes, to stumble and fall. Keep trusting God and he will give you other opportunities, and maybe even better ones; and who knows, maybe he will even give you a second chance at that missed opportunity.

Because of my hard headedness, it took me about six months to realize God had given me an amazing opportunity to write, but as soon as I came to my senses and realized the opportunity before me, I embraced it, trying to make the most of the time that remains.

Are there missed opportunities in your life, in your past? If so, don’t let them discourage you. Instead, let it spur you on to make the most of the opportunities that remain, to make the most of the time that’s left.

The important thing to remember is to keep your eyes on the path in front of you, trusting and following God. When he has you stop and wait, then you can take time to look back, but don’t dwell on it for very long. There is a lot of exciting mystery, a lot of good and wonderful things ahead you.

About this entry