How to Defeat the Excuse Plague

[tweetmeme]

For the past week and a half or so, I have been a little sick, fighting one of those annoying sinus colds that steals your energy and most of your appetite, leaving you instead feeling dizzy and weak and miserable. The only thing I really wanted to do was sleep, but I had classes to go to, books to read (for class), and a novel to write. I went to my classes, but mostly avoided the other tasks.

During this time, however, I got to thinking about excuses, particularly as they pertain to writing. My excuse for not writing these past couple weeks, I told myself, was because I was sick. Now, regardless of whether that was legitimate
or not, I began asking myself why I make excuses not to write.

I know I make excuses, and I’m pretty sure everyone else does too. But I realized it doesn’t really do anyone any good to identify the excuses. It is important and healthy, of course, to do this, but all it really does is make us aware of the fact we are making them.

As I lay in bed, I started thinking about how one goes about beating the excuse plague, and I came to this simple, yet important discovery. Once we have acknowledged to ourselves that we are making excuses, avoiding what we know we should be doing, we need to ask ourselves this question: WHY are we making the excuses?

Only you can answer that question for yourself, and I encourage you to spend time reflecting on it and answering it for yourself. For me though, as I thought about it, I came to the conclusion that the reason I make excuses in the first place is because of a lack of faith and trust in myself and, more importantly, in the One who’s called me and equipped me write.

The next thing I learned was that this lesson goes far beyond just writing, and as I begin to apply this to other areas of my life, I am confident I will become more productive and wise with my time. And, though it may take me a lifetime to learn, I hope to see the numbers of excuses grow smaller and smaller to the point where they don’t even exist.

About this entry